2021 Honorary Degree Recipients

Cape Breton University has been awarding honorary degrees since 1989, and during that time, has welcomed individuals from around the world in numerous sectors into our Alumni family. This year, we are thrilled to confer honorary doctorates on six individuals from across the country who have made a significant impact in their fields of study as well as their community. CBU will confer the degrees Doctor of Laws, honoris causa, on Dr. Robert Strang, accepting on behalf of public health professionals in Nova Scotia, and Dr. Shiv Sharma. Also, CBU will confer the degrees Doctor of Letters, honoris causa, on the Honorable Dr. Mayann Francis, the Honorable Margaret McCain, Mr. Denis Ryan and Mr. Doug MacPhee.

Full bios and speeches from each recipient can be found on their individual pages.

Back to Top